About the FundStructure of the FundDonationsNews and EventsOur ProjectsHow to Contact Us  –ůŮŮÍŤť


Piotrovsky Mikhail Borisovich

Director of The State Hermitage Museum

Mikhail Borisovich Piotrovsky was born in Yerevan, Armenia, in 1944. His father, Boris Borisovich Piotrovski, an eminent archaeologist was director of The State Hermitage Museum from 1964 to 1990.

In 1996 Mikhail Piotrovsky graduated with honours from the Oriental Faculty of Leningrad State University, specializing in Arabic Studies, in 1967. He also attended Cairo University from 1965 to 1966. He entered the Leningrad branch of the Institute for Oriental Studies as a research assistant in 1967 and worked there until 1991. In 1991 he was invited to join the Hermitage staff as first deputy director with responsibility for research work. In July 1992 Mikhail Piotrovsky was appointed Director of the State Hermitage by government decree.

Dr. Piotrovsky has taken part in archaeological excavations in the Caucasus, Central Asia and Yemen. He is the author of more than 200 scholarly works, including catalogues of Arabic manuscripts, the publication of mediaeval works and ancient inscriptions, works on the spiritual and political history of Islam and Arab culture, and on the archaeology of Arabia. His publications include a set of entries on Muslim mythology in the encyclopedia Myths of the Peoples of the World, a series of articles about the prophet Muhammad and the monographs: The Legend of the Himyarite King Asad al-Kamil (Moscow, 1977; Arabic translations: Sanaa, Damascus, Aden, 1978, 1979); Southern Arabia in the Early Middle Ages (Moscow, 1985);Yemen before Islam and in the First Century of the Hijra (Beirut, 1987); Koranic Tales (Moscow, 1991); Islam. An Encyclopedic Reference Book (Moscow, 1991,co-author); The Hermitage. Collections and Collectors (St Petersburg, 1997); Earthly Art - Heavenly Beauty. The Art of Islam (St Petersburg, 2000); On Islamic Art (St Petersburg, 2001), The Hermitage in the Great Museums of the World series (Slovo, Moscow, 2003), The Historical Legends of Quran. A Word and an Image (St Petersburg, 2005).

Dr. Mikhail Piotrovsky is a member of the Russian Academy of Sciences, a full member of the Russian Academy of Arts, and a corresponding member of the German Archaeological Institute, deputy chairman of the Presidents Council for Art and Culture, a professor of St. Petersburg State University, chairman of the Union of Museums in Russia, president of the Worldwide Club of St. Petersburgers, chairman of the board of the European University in St Petersburg, editor-in-chief of the magazine The Christian Orient.

He has been awarded the Netherlands Order of Orange-Nassau (1996), the Russian Order of Honour (1997), the French Order of the Legion of Honour (1998, 2004), the Swedish Order of the Polar Star (1999), the Order for Merit to the Italian Republic (2000, 2004), the Armenian Apostolic Church's Order of St Mesrop (2000), the Ukrainian Order of Yaroslav the Wise (2003), the Order "Of Service" (Poland, 2004), the Order of Service to the Fatherland (Russia, 2004), the Award of the Council's of Muftis of Russia - the - Al - Fahr Order of Honour (2005),), Order of the Finish Lion (2005), the International Prize of St. Andrew "for Faith and Loyalty" (2005), the Order of the Rising Sun, Gold and Silver Star (Japan, 2007), the Silver Medal of Amsterdam (2009), the Woodrow Wilson Award for Public Service (United States, 2009), the annual Golden Bridge prize (Italy, 2010).

In 2003 Mikhail Piotrovsky has been awarded the President Prize in the Field of Art and Literature.

In 1997 a minor planet was named "Piotrovsky" by the International Astronomical Union in joint honour of Mikhail Borisovich Piotrovsky and his father Boris Borisovich Piotrovsky.

On May 25th, 2011, the Director of the State Hermitage Museum, Mikhail Borisovich Piotrovsky was awarded the title of Honoured Citizen of Saint Petersburg.



Donate on-line

   
GALA BANQUET IN THE WINTER PALACE, 29 JUNE 2019, SATURDAY

GALA BANQUET IN THE WINTER PALACE, 29 JUNE 2019, SATURDAY

The acquisition of Anselm Kieferís ďAuroraĒ

The acquisition of Anselm Kieferís ďAuroraĒ

13th Charity Gala in the Winter Palace

On 30 June 2018, the 13th Charity Gala was held in the Winter Palace. It was attended by members of the political and cultural elite, scholars, scientists and cultural figures, directors of major Russian museums, stars of the theatre and cinema.

The Capital No. 2

The Capital No. 2

TKB Investment Partners is Appointed Management Company for the Newly Formed Endowment Capital

TKB Investment Partners is Appointed Management Company for the Newly Formed Endowment Capital

Establishing an Additional Endowment Capital

Establishing an Additional Endowment Capital

Traditional Charity Gala Reception in the Winter Palace

Traditional Charity Gala Reception in the Winter Palace

GALA BANQUET IN THE WINTER PALACE Friday - 24 June 2016

Every year, the State Hermitage Museum hosts a Gala Banquet in the Winter Palace. This magnificent celebration, worthy of the Russian Tsars, attracts patrons of the arts and friends of the Hermitage from all over the world.

Donation from the Employees of the State Hermitage

The Special Endowment Fund Management for the Development of the State Hermitage Museum is grateful to Mikhail Novikov and Ekaterina Sirakanian

The 10th Gala Charitable Banquet in the Winter Palace

On 26 June 2015 the 10th Gala Charitable Banquet took place in the Winter Palace.

Card tables come home

A pair of superb card tables, masterpieces of their kind dating from the 1760-1770s, have been acquired and restored by the Hermitage..

Meeting of the Board of Trustees

December 7, a meeting of the Board of Trustees was held.
© Hermitage Development Foundation, 2012 - 2019. All rights reserved. Last Modified:

О фондеОрганы управления фондаПожертвованияНовостиПроектыКонтакты  English


Пиотровский Михаил Борисович

Директор Государственного Эрмитажа

Михаил Борисович Пиотровский родился в Ереване в 1944 году. Его отец, Борис Борисович Пиотровский, — выдающийся археолог, директор Государственного Эрмитажа с 1964 по 1990 год. В 1967 году М. Б. Пиотровский с отличием окончил Восточный факультет Государственного Университета по кафедре Арабской филологии, в 1965–1966 годах стажировался в Каирском Университете. С 1967 по 1991 год Михаил Борисович работал в Ленинградском отделении Института востоковедения, защитил кандидатскую (1973) и докторскую (1985) диссертации. В 1991 году был приглашен в Эрмитаж заместителем директора музея по научной работе. В июле 1992 года постановлением Правительства России Михаил Борисович Пиотровский был назначен директором Государственного Эрмитажа.

М. Б. Пиотровский участвовал в археологических раскопках на Кавказе, в Центральной Азии и Йемене. Он является автором более 250 научных работ, среди которых — каталоги арабских рукописей, издания средневековых памятников и древних надписей, работы по духовной и политической истории ислама и арабской культуры, археологии Аравии. Среди них — серии статей по мусульманской мифологии в энциклопедии «Мифы народов мира», серия статей о пророке Мухаммаде и монографии — «Предание о химйаритском царе Асаде ал-Камиле» (М., 1977, арабские переводы — Сана, Дамаск, Аден, 1978, 1979), «Южная Аравия в раннее средневековье» (М., 1985), «Йемен до ислама и в первые века хиджры» (Бейрут, 1987), «Коранические сказания» (М., 1991), «Ислам. Энциклопедический справочник» (М., 1991, в соавторстве), «Эрмитаж. Собрания и собиратели» (СПб., 1997 в соавторстве), «Земное Искусство — Небесная красота. Искусство Ислама», (СПб., 2000), «О мусульманском искусстве» (СПб., 2001), «Великие коллекции великого музея. Эрмитаж» (СПб., 2003), «Эрмитаж» в серии «Великие музеи мира» (М., 2003), «Исторические предания Корана» (СПб., 2005), «Обретение двух святынь Футух аль-харамайн» (СПб., 2011).

Михаил Борисович Пиотровский — член-корреспондент Российской Академии наук, действительный член Российской Академии художеств, член Совета при Президенте Российской Федерации по культуре и искусству, профессор Санкт-Петербургского Государственного Университета, Председатель Союза музеев России, президент Всемирного клуба петербуржцев, председатель Попечительского совета Европейского университета в Санкт-Петербурге, член-корреспондент Германского археологического института, главный редактор журнала «Христианский Восток».

Михаил Борисович Пиотровский награжден орденом Королевского дома Оранских-Нассау (Нидерланды, 1996), орденом Почета (Россия, 1997), орденом Почетного Легиона (Франция, 1998, 2004), орденом Полярной Звезды (Швеция, 1999), орденом «За заслуги перед Итальянской Республикой» (Италия, 2000, 2004), орденом Святого Месропа (Армянская апостольская церковь, 2000), орденом Ярослава Мудрого (Украина, 2003), орденом «За заслуги» (Польша, 2004), орденом «За заслуги перед Отечеством» (Россия, 2004, 2009), орденом «Аль-Фахр» (Совет Муфтиев России, 2005), орденом Льва Финляндии (Финляндия, 2005), орденом Восходящего солнца, Золотая и Серебряная звезда (Япония, 2007), Серебряной медалью Амстердама (2009), наградой Международного научного центра Вудро Вильсона, (США, 2009), ежегодной общественной премией «Золотой мост» (Италия, 2010).

В 2003 году Михаил Борисович Пиотровский награжден Президентской премией в области литературы и искусства.

В 1997 году в честь отца и сына — Бориса Борисовича и Михаила Борисовича Пиотровских — Международный Астрономический Союз присвоил одной из открытых малых планет имя «Пиотровский».

25 мая 2011 года директору Государственного Эрмитажа Михаилу Борисовичу Пиотровскому присвоено звание Почетного гражданина Санкт-Петербурга.


Сделать пожертвование

   

XIII Торжественный благотворительный прием в Зимнем дворце

30 июня 2018 года состоялся XIII Торжественный благотворительный прием в Зимнем дворце. Гостями приема стали представители политической и деловой элиты, деятели науки и культуры, директора крупнейших российских музеев, звезды театра и кино.

Опубликованы аудиторское заключение, финансовый отчет Фонда за 2017 и финансовый план на 2018 год

По завершению аудита Фонда за 2017 год результаты работы фонда за 2017 год приняты и одобрены Попечительским советом и Правлением фонда.Ф

Итоги проведения Торжественного приема в Зимнем дворце в 2017 году

Итоги проведения Торжественного приема в Зимнем дворце в 2017 году
Политика конфиденциальности  © Фонд развития Государственного Эрмитажа, 2012 - 2018. Последнее обновление: